Majority of EU-adequate countries will allow uninterrupted data transfers to UK

The UK government has issued updated advice on data protection and Brexit.

It says that 11 of the 12 third countries deemed adequate by the EU have currently informed the UK that they will maintain unrestricted personal data flows with the UK.

The European Commission has recognised Andorra, Argentina, Canada (commercial organisations), Faroe Islands, Guernsey, Israel, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Switzerland and Uruguay as providing adequate protection.

The ICO lists the specific arrangements made with these countries, apart from Andorra, in the section headed “How can we maintain transfers into the UK from countries, territories or sectors covered by an EC adequacy decision?”

See the government’s updated guidance of 16 October: Using personal data in your business or other organisation after the transition period

For more news and analysis on this topic, subscribe to Privacy Laws & Business Reports.